N.Y. Indian Law Section 41
Enumeration of officers

The government of the Seneca nation by chiefs is abolished. Each nation shall have as officers a clerk and a treasurer. The Tonawanda nation shall have a marshal and three peacemakers. The Seneca nation shall have a marshal, three peacemakers, and eight councilors for each of its reservations, and a president. Each officer of each nation now in office shall continue in office until the expiration of the term for which he was chosen and until his successor shall be chosen.

Source: Section 41 — Enumeration of officers, https://www.­nysenate.­gov/legislation/laws/IND/41 (updated Sep. 22, 2014; accessed Dec. 2, 2023).

Dec. 2, 2023

Last modified:
Sep. 22, 2014

§ 41’s source at nysenate​.gov

Link Style