N.Y. Criminal Procedure Law Section 10.10
The criminal courts

  • enumeration and definitions


The “criminal courts” of this state are comprised of the superior courts and the local criminal courts.


“Superior court” means:


The supreme court; or


A county court.


“Local criminal court” means:


A district court; or


The New York City criminal court; or


A city court; or


A town court; or


A village court; or


A supreme court justice sitting as a local criminal court; or


A county judge sitting as a local criminal court.


“City court” means any court for a city, other than New York City, having trial jurisdiction of offenses of less than felony grade only committed within such city, whether such court is entitled a city court, a municipal court, a police court, a recorder’s court or is known by any other name or title.


“Town court.” A “town court” is comprised of all the town justices of a town.


“Village court.” A “village court” is comprised of the justice of a village, or all the justices thereof if there be more than one, or, at a time when he or they are absent, an associate justice of a village who is authorized to perform the functions of a village justice during his absence.


Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, a court specified herein which possesses civil as well as criminal jurisdiction does not act as a criminal court when acting solely in the exercise of its civil jurisdiction, and an order or determination made by such a court in its civil capacity is not an order or determination of a criminal court even though it may terminate or otherwise control or affect a criminal action or proceeding.

Source: Section 10.10 — The criminal courts; enumeration and definitions, https://www.­nysenate.­gov/legislation/laws/CPL/10.­10 (updated Aug. 26, 2016; accessed Dec. 2, 2023).

Dec. 2, 2023

Last modified:
Aug. 26, 2016

§ 10.10’s source at nysenate​.gov

Link Style