N.Y. Executive Law Section 847-B
Tug Hill commission

  • continuation

There is hereby continued the Tug Hill commission, hereinafter referred to as the commission, to consist of nine members to be appointed as follows: three by the governor, three by the temporary president of the senate and three by the speaker of the assembly. All of the appointees of each such officer shall be residents of the Tug Hill region, which includes, in Jefferson county, the towns of Adams, Champion, Lorraine, Rodman, Rutland, Watertown and Worth; in Lewis county, the towns of Denmark, Harrisburg, Lewis, Leyden, Lowville, Martinsburg, Montague, Osceola, Pinckney, Turin and West Turin; in Oneida county, the towns of Annsville, Ava, Boonville, Camden, Florence, Floyd, Forestport, Lee, Remsen, Steuben, Trenton, Vienna and Western; and in Oswego county, the towns of Albion, Amboy, Boylston, Constantia, Hastings, Orwell, Parish, Redfield, West Monroe and Williamstown. At least two commissioners shall be selected from each of the four counties respectively. The commission shall choose from among its members a chairman, vice-chairman and secretary. The members of the Tug Hill commission serving on the effective date of this article shall continue in office and shall be deemed and held to constitute the members of the Tug Hill commission until their terms expire on August first, nineteen hundred ninety-eight. Thereafter, the term of office of each member appointed shall be for five years. Each member shall hold office until a successor has been appointed and qualified. Vacancies in membership of the commission occurring from any cause shall be filled by the officer authorized to make the original appointment of the member whose office becomes vacant.

Source: Section 847-B — Tug Hill commission; continuation, https://www.­nysenate.­gov/legislation/laws/EXC/847-B (updated Sep. 22, 2014; accessed Dec. 2, 2023).

Dec. 2, 2023

Last modified:
Sep. 22, 2014

§ 847-B’s source at nysenate​.gov

Link Style