N.Y. Civil Service Law Section 40
Classified service

  • classes of positions

The classified service shall comprise all offices and positions not included in the unclassified service. The offices and positions in the classified service of the state and of its civil divisions shall be divided into four classes, to be designated as the exempt class, the non-competitive class, the labor class, and the competitive class.

Source: Section 40 — Classified service; classes of positions, https://www.­nysenate.­gov/legislation/laws/CVS/40 (updated Sep. 22, 2014; accessed Jun. 15, 2024).

Jun. 15, 2024

Last modified:
Sep. 22, 2014

§ 40’s source at nysenate​.gov

Link Style