N.Y. Canal Law Section 139-B
Task force composition


The task force shall consist of nine members, including the director of the canal corporation, the commissioner of transportation, the director of the division of homeland security and emergency services and the commissioner of environmental conservation; and five additional members who shall be from outside the public offices listed in this section and who shall have professional experience in one of the following fields: hydrology, civil engineering, climatology, emergency management and soil and water conservation. Three of the additional members shall be appointed by the governor and one each of the remaining additional members shall be appointed by the temporary president of the senate and the speaker of the assembly.


The task force chairperson shall be the director of the canal corporation.


The members of the task force shall receive no compensation for their services, but shall be allowed their actual and necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their duties. * NB Repealed July 1, 2024

Source: Section 139-B — Task force composition, https://www.­nysenate.­gov/legislation/laws/CAL/139-B (updated Jul. 8, 2022; accessed Dec. 2, 2023).

Dec. 2, 2023

Last modified:
Jul. 8, 2022

§ 139-B’s source at nysenate​.gov

Link Style